GNcareers, from Gulf News

Different types of certifications

CertificationsImage Credit: Supplied

Small privately held proprietorship organisations, multinational companies and government entities, among others, all seek accredited certifications to improve their operations and provide customer confidence.

There are different types of certifications that cover a wide range of fields.

Among the common ones are Food Safety System Certification (FSSC) and Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) for the food industry; CE Marking and Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) for the manufacturing business; Good Distribution Practice (GDP) for the pharmaceutical industry; Joint Commission International (JCI) for hospitals and health care organisations; Occupational Health and Safety Advisory Services (OHSAS) 18001 which covers all types of organisations; and Global G.A.P. for the agricultural (including aquaculture) industry.

Aside from the above, ISO certification is the most widely sought and popular. It is a useful documentation that shows how a company’s products or services meet client expectations. ISO certifications cover many industries, with most of them specific to processes and products. However, the most common are ISO 14001 and ISO 9001, which are general management system standards that apply to any organisation.

When applying for an accreditation, businesses have to undergo several audits before they can become certified.

Handy Hints
• ISO is most popular among the different types
• Some certifications are specific to certain fields
• Firms undergo audits before becoming certified

Source: Cleofi-Krista Capili, Special to Classifieds
The writer is a freelancer